Animas-La Plata Water Conservancy District

841 East Second Avenue
Durango, CO 81301
(970) 247-2659


The Animas-La Plata Water Conservancy District (ALPWCD) is a special district formed on March 18, 1981 as set forth in C.R.S. 37-45-102. The territory included within the boundaries of the District are divided into three subdivisions with Directors appointed from each.


The general purpose of the District includes, but is not limited to: "acquire and appropriate waters of the Animas and La Plata rivers and their tributaries and other sources of water supply by means of 'works' as defined in the 'Water Conservancy Act' and to divert, store, transport, conserve and stabilize all of said supplies of water for domestic, irrigation, power, manufacturing and other beneficial uses within and for the territory to be included in the District."


The ALPWCD is governed by a 15-member Board of Directors. The Board adopts an annual budget based upon a mill levy. Directors are appointed to four-year terms by the Division 7 Water Judge. The present Directors, their positions on the Board, and current terms of office are as follows:

Robert Wolff, President, Subdivision 2 (to March 2020)
Kenneth Beegles, Vice President, Subdivision 3 (to March 2018)
Gene Bradley, Secretary-Treasurer, Subdivision 2 (to March 2017)
Tom Brossia, Director, Subdivision 2 (to March 2019)
Lee Campbell, Director, Subdivision 3 (to March 2017)
Joseph Colgan, Director, Subdivision 3 (to March 2017)
Ronald Gillen, Director, Subdivision 1 (to March 2017)
Jerry Schmitt, Director, Subdivision 1 (to March 2018)
Tom Hartnett, Director, Subdivision 1 (to March 2019)
Dan Huntington, Director, Subdivision 1 (to March 2019)
Matt Isgar, Director, Subdivision 1 (to March 2017)
Stephen Krest, Director, Subdivision 1 (to March 2017)
Vacant, Director, Subdivision 3 
Deems Taylor, Director, Subdivision 1 (to March 2017)
John T. (Ted) Vickers, Director, Subdivision 3 (to March 2018)

Currently, the Board of Directors meets quarterly.

ALPWCD has two employees: Executive Director, Bruce Whitehead, and Programs Coordinator, Laura Spann. 


Animas-La Plata Project


2017 Upcoming Meetings: Tuesday, May 16, 7:00 pm, Marvel Grange; Thursday, August 17, 7:00 pm, Marvel Grange; and Thursday, November 16, 7:00 pm, Durango District Office.


Please see below minutes approved by the board from the past year.


For Open Records requests, please see the attached document below. 

ALPWCD Minutes 11-17-16.pdf376.79 KB
ALPWCD Minutes 8-18-16.pdf262.35 KB
ALPWCD Minutes 5-19-16.pdf284.65 KB
ALPWCD Minutes 2-16-16.pdf59.6 KB
ALPWCD Open Records Policy.pdf9.25 KB