City of Durango Utility Commission


Utility Department 
949 East Second Avenue
Durango, CO 81301
(970) 375-4801
(970) 375-4848 [Fax]


The Durango Utility Commission was established by ordinance 892 in September 1979 and reaffirmed in 2002 by  Resolution 2002-21.


The duties of the Water Commission are to, "Advise the Durango City Council on water issues of the City, particularly concerning additional water supply, transporting water to storage facilities, construction and use of transportation and storage facilities, purification, conservation, utilization, distribution of City water to users, methods of charging customers of water, methods of collecting delinquent water accounts, and makes  recommendations of other studies and such surveys as are necessary to cover generally all issues concerning the water system of the City. 


The Water Utility is appointed by the Durango City Council and is made up of members who serve three year terms. Current Commission members are:

John Ballow, Alternate (to 2016)
Domi Frideger (to 2015)
Kara Hellige (to 2017)
Ryan Huggins (to 2015)
Richard Reitz (to 2016)
Dick White, City Council Liaison
Chris Wilbur, Chair (to 2017)
Bob Wolffe (to 2015)

The Board sets their agenda on a month to month basis. Meetings are the first Monday of the month at 4:30 pm at River City Hall conference room.


Visit the City of Durango's website