Pagosa Area Water and Sanitation District (PAWSD)


100 Lyn Avenue
P.O. Drawer 4610
Pagosa Springs, CO 81157
(970) 731-2691
(970) 731-2693 [Fax]


The Pagosa Water and Sanitation District (PAWSD or the District) is a quasi-municipal corporation and a political subdivision of the State of Colorado originally formed in 1971 and reorganized in 1977. The District encompasses approximately 76 square miles in the San Juan Mountains of southwestern Colorado. Included in its' boundaries are the Town of Pagosa Springs and unincorporated areas of Archuleta County. 


The Pagosa Area Water and Sanitation District is governed by a five member Board of Directors who must be electors of the District as defined by state law and are elected to overlapping four year terms of office at successive biennial elections. Vacancies on the Board are filled by appointment of the remaining directors, the appointee to serve until the next regular election, at which time the vacancy is filled by election for any remaining unexpired portion of the term. The present Directors, their positions on the Board, and current terms of office are as follows:

Michael Church, Chairman and President (to 2016)
Glenn Walsh, Vice Chairman/President (to 2016)
Paul Hansen, Treasurer (to 2018)
Gordon McIver, Secretary (to 2018)
Blake Blueckner, Director (to 2016)

The Board of Directors meets the second Tuesday of each month at the District office unless otherwise noticed. The Manager of the District, Renee Lewis, is directly responsible to the Board of Directors and supervises all of the daily activities of the District staff.


Visit the PAWSD website