Dolores, Montezuma, and San Miguel Counties Update

Dolores, Montezuma, and San Miguel agricultural producers are receiving help from the federal government after a year of drought-like conditions hampered growing efforts in the region. In February the U.S. Department of Agriculture announced that the three counties, along with Fremont, Mesa, and Montrose counties, were granted disaster designation as a result of crop damage due to drought. The Western Slope experienced a wet spring that turned into a very dry summer in 2009, according to a statement from the state department of agriculture. As a result of the dramatic shift in moisture levels, various crops in the listed counties were damaged to an extent that warranted disaster designation.