La Plata Archuleta Water District

La Plata Archuleta Water District (LAPLAWD)

255 Ute Street
PO Box 1377
Ignacio, Colorado 81137
(970) 563-0320
(970) 563-0325 [Fax]
[email protected]


The La Plata Archuleta Water District (the District) is a quasi-municipal corporation and a political subdivision of the State of Colorado formed in 2008. The District encompasses approximately 400 square miles in southeast La Plata County. Excluded from its' boundaries are the Towns of Bayfield and Ignacio. 


The mission of the La Plata Archuleta Water District is to construct, finance, participate in intergovernmental agreements and provide for the operations for the essential, safe and reliable potable public water and fire protection services in the southeast portion of La Plata County and, possibly in the future, the southwest portion of Archuleta County.


The La Plata Archuleta Water District is governed by a five member Board of Directors who must be electors of the District as defined by state law and are elected to overlapping four year terms of office at successive biennial elections. Vacancies on the Board are filled by appointment of the remaining directors, the appointee to serve until the next regular election, at which time the vacancy is filled by election for any remaining unexpired portion of the term. The present Directors, their positions on the Board, and current terms of office are as follows:

Richard Lunceford, Chairman (to 2016)
Dan Lynn, Vice Chair (to May 2018)
Mark Williams, Treasurer (to May 2018)
Ron Dent (to 2016)
Gregg Johnson (to 2016)

The Board of Directors meets the second Thursday of each month at the District office  at 9:00 AM, unless otherwise noticed. The Manager of the District, Edward Tolen, is directly responsible to the Board of Directors and supervises all of the daily activities of the District staff.


Visit the LAPLAWD website: