Lochhead Recives Aspinall Award

At their annual conference in January the Colorado Water Congress awarded Jim Lochhead, Denver Water CEO/manager, the 2014 Wayne N. Aspinall "Water Leader of the Year" Award. The Aspinall Award is given for a career of service and contribution to the water community. It is awarded to a person who has dedicated a significant part of his or her career to the advancement of the state and its programs that define the process of protecting, developing, and preserving the state’s water resources. A true statesman, Lochhead has navigated his 30-year career in the water industry by developing trust and confidence with interests throughout Colorado and the West. This characteristic ensured his leadership in the recent accomplishment of the Colorado River Cooperative Agreement which changes the way diverse interest groups cohesively manage, protect, and preserve water in Colorado. Described by many as a genuine and sincere person, Lochhead has deep experience and expertise in Colorado water issues and the political process. In addition to championing regional cooperation in the water industry, Lochhead now oversees the supply of water to the 1.3 million people Denver Water serves. Lochhead was nominated and selected for the award by the previous Aspinall Award winners and a group of Colorado Water Congress officers. Eric Wilkinson, 2011 Aspinall Award recipient, said “Jim is very deserving of the Aspinall ‘Water Leader of the Year’ Award as he epitomizes the true intent of the award. He is a recognized and respected leader in the water community, not only in Colorado but throughout the Colorado River Basin and the West. Colorado is indebted to Jim for his exemplary service and innumerable contributions to the Colorado Water community.” Congratulations Jim!